Facebook will delete your backed-up photos if you don’t install this app

0
442

Facebook will start deleting all the photos users have synced from the Facebook app if they don’t install their new dedicated photo-sharing app Moments before 7 July.

Facebook started notifying users that it will soon delete all their synced photos if they didn’t install the app.

The app was released in June 2015, and you can get it for free in their official site.

There are many users that uses the photo syncing feature, which was introduced in 2012 and this feature promised unlimited automatic photo uploads from user’s smartphones into a private album on the social network.

This feature was a way of backing up the user’s photo collection just like Google’s Photos, Yahoo’s Flickr and Apple’s iCloud Photos.

In January Facebook stopped support for automatic syncing of photos from the main Facebook app, forcing users to install the Moments app if they want to continue automatically uploading their photos.

Now Facebook will delete all their synced photos unless the users install the Moments app before 7 July 2016.

Here is the official statement from Facebook:

“Photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook. The Moments app lets you organize and privately share photos from your phone, and download or delete photos you’ve synced to Facebook. Moments is available for download in the App Store and the Google Play Store.

If you want to keep these photos, download and log into Moments before July 7.

If you don’t want Moments, download these photos directly to your computer from your Facebook profile before July 7.”